Bewildering Paradox

29 Nov

“Colleagues, neighbors and friends: thanks for letting me toast this most influential person, confident as I am that many of you share my sentiments.

I admit He is a person of bewildering paradox:
true God, yet true man;
God’s son, yet born in a stable;
architect of the world, without a home of His own;

creator of the world’s resources, yet Himself possessing only the seamless garment He wore to the cross for which His executioners cast lots;
a king whose throne was a cross, whose crown was of thorns;

coming to bring mercy, but Himself condemned to death;
dead at a mere 33, yet alive forever;
a man of peace, whose followers have tragically waged violence in His Holy Name;
a man of love whose heart is broken by the sin, hatred, and division in the members of the Church He founded, even in its leaders, including me.

Yet, He never gives up on us, asking only our love, faith, and trust;
I toast Him as my Lord and Savior;
I toast Him as my best friend;

I believe He’s here with us this evening, He who invites each of us to enjoy with Him a future banquet of eternal life in heaven.

And I toast all of you influential people for your patience in letting me toast Jesus Christ, the most influential person in my life.”

Cardinal Timothy Dolan at Time Magazine’s gala for most influential people in 2012

Leave a Reply

